Archive usually keeps the email in the Archive Folder, for future reference. Delete commonly puts the mail in a Trash folder, that is periodically cleaned, and can also be manually deleted forever on demand. You can access both of those folders from the Folders pane.
You can View your Folders by tapping the top left corner logo, and choosing the desired Account. Choose Trash/Archive.